IGS sport programs instill a sense of pride in school and community, teach lifelong lessons and skills of teamwork and self-discipline and facilitate the physical and emotional development of the student. It promotes citizenship and sportsmanship in the many students who participate. IGS students compete at a National level and have won many awards.

Ibadan Grammar School has proudly produced many of Nigeria’s top sports men and women including:

  • Babatunde Obisanya – Table Tennis
  • Zion Ogunfehinmi – Football (Goalkeeper)
  • Best Ogedegbe – Football (Goalkeeper)
  • Taiwo Ogunjobi – Football 
  • Felix Adedeji – Football 
  • Femi Green – Football
  • Wole Odegbami – Football
  • Brig-Gen Adebiyi – Table Tennis 
  • Yisa Aiyesoro -Table Tennis 
  • Kasali Lasisi -Table Tennis
  • Bella Momoh – Football (1985 Under 13 Team of World champions)
  • Bankole Okuwa
  • Tokunbo Thomas
  • Monisola Oroyinyin (Udoh) – Table Tennis

Available activities include:

  • Soccer (Football)
  • Track Running
  • Lawn Tennis
  • High Jump
  • Long Jump
  • Shot Put
  • Discus Throw
  • Javelin Throw
  • Triple Jump
  • Pole Vault


Ibadan Grammar School is a member of AIONIAN group of schools. The AIONIAN Brotherhood was founded in 1930 by the principals of:

Abeokuta Grammar School (founded in July 1908), Late Rev. W. R. B. Kuye
Ibadan Grammar School (founded in March 1913), Late Rev. A. B. Akinyele.

Ijebu-Ode Grammar School (founded in Jan., 1913), Late Rev. I. O. Ransome-Kuti.
Ondo Boy’s High School, Ondo (founded in Jan., 1919), Late Rev. Canon M. C. Adeyemi who first suggested the idea of the Brotherhood at a meeting held at St. Andrew’s College Oyo.
The four schools are the foundation members of the Brotherhood, and the name “AIONIAN” was derived from initials of the four schools, “AIONI”, with the last “AN” added to make it adjectival. Other members joined later at different periods. By 1955, membership of the AIONIAN brotherhood had grown to twelve, all in the former Western State of Nigeria. With the creation of Oyo, Ondo and Ogun states in 1976, the schools were coincidentally divided into three equal parts with four in each state. The names of the schools and the year they joined are:

Ibadan Grammar School; 1930 
Oduduwa college, Ile – Ife; 1932
Ilesa Grammar school, Ilesa ; 1934
Gbongan/Ode-Omu Grammar school, Gbongan; 1955

Ondo Boys High School, Ondo; 1930 
Imade College, Owo; 1946
Victory College, Ikare; 1947
Manuwa memorial Grammar School, Iju-Odo; 1954

Abeokuta Grammar School, Abeokuta; 1930
Ijebu-Ode Grammar School, Ijebu-Ode; 1930
Remo Secondary School, Sagamu; 1934 
Egbado College, Ilaro; 1951

Ibadan Grammar School is the permanent Secretariat and the principal is the permanent Secretary. Each school is referred to as a House e.g. Ibadan Grammar School is referred to as Ibadan House. Schools in the brotherhood have in common an annual sports festival which is held in rotation among the Houses.